We Are The Damned – Doomvirate by Tony Bliss

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/Label: www.lifeforcerecords.com
Released: 2014



Ricardo Correia – Guitars/Vocals
Nuno Loureiro – Guitars
Paulo Lafaia – Drums
Pedro Cobrado – Bass


1. Ghastly Humans
2. Dreams Under Surveillance
3. Revealing Morality
4. Rain of Spikes
5. Soul Entropy
6. Imposter
7. The Threshold
8. Macabre Expedition
9. Angelsick
10. Flight of the Phoenix



With the current boom in punk fueled extremity (see the vicious heights of Black Breath and Trap Them) impressing across the board with a seamless marriage of hardcore intensity and metallic dynamism, it is undoubtedly grin inducing to discover yet another pitch black gem to add to the ever expanding glut of blood spitters. We Are The Damned sit comfortably with the forerunners of the scene.

‘Doomvirate’, the Portuguese quintets sophomore full length, may take its cue from a filthy crust ‘n’ roll which can all easily become somewhat stale, yet where the album succeeds is a infectiously upbeat vigour which is anything but mundane. The likes of ‘Angelsick’ and ‘Revealling Morality’ streamroll through skin flaying riff work and dizzying tempos before nosediving into monolithic grooves, delivering the staple pummel and bite of any metal act worth their salt, yet imbuing their blackened aggression with a full throttle sense of gleeful grotesquery.

Indeed, it is perhaps the pace of proceedings here which takes the fun of ‘Doomvirate’ up a notch. The driving percussion, all d-beat shuffle and flash fire blasting, maintains an energy which is as contagious as it is violent (see the devastating ‘Threshold’ and a cast iron ‘Dreams Under Surveillance’ for two highlight examples).

It is certainly a thrilling feat for a band so steeped in the vitriolic abandon of underground savagery to also be so absorbingly upbeat and buoyant. It is this kinetic sense of a vivacious onslaught which sees ‘Doomvirate’ such a grippingly wide eyed listen, quenching any appetite for a sharp jolt of blood drenched enjoyment. File this one under fun.

Review by Tony Bliss