Thomas Giles – Modern Noise by Ritchie Birnie

Rating 3.5/5
Distributor/label: Metal blade records
Distributor/label URL:
Released: Ukraine: 25/11/14
Buy Album [URL]: ,,
Band Website:

Thomas Giles - Modern NoiseBand line-up:

Will Goodyear  – Drums
Thomas Giles – Everything Else


1. Wise and Silent
2. Mutilated World
3. Siphon the Bad Blood
4. I Appear Disappear
5. Blueberry Queen
6. We Wander Lonely
7. M3
8. lkcvjvhljbvj≥˜∆˚nnnjmkjijm
9. Noise Upon
10. Wander Drug
11. The Devil Net
12. Modern Noise


The voice and keyboards of Between the Buried and Me is back with another solo album and he has come a long way from his initial solo release Pulse way back in 2004. The album name is basically what we are doing right now says Thomas…I can see where he is coming from.

This is a solid outing and I think he could gain many new fans. I can see the majority of these tracks being played on the radio (I pray he brings out track 8 as a single just to hear the DJs all struggling to name it…..go on give it a try yourself……I think it will be forever known as track 8). Joking. Aside he has managed to mix electronic and rock well in an easy listening type of vibe. There are many tip of the hats to 90s Britpop bands as well as smashing pumpkins and this could be why it could appeal to a much vaster audience than he has had previously.

You can tell he has enjoyed making this album as he has had no barriers with which to work within. He also has old time cohort Will Goodyear back and it’s obvious to hear. He has everything thrown in here from track ones pure electronic sound to Blueberry Queen, a full on blues/jazz/funk number.

Stand out track for me is Siphon the bad blood. Dirty growling bass, upbeat guitars and maybe even a sing-along chorus (albeit shouted). This one is a stunner. Another is I appear to disappear. You have beautiful guitars (very Gary Moore/ Rory Gallagher) with mellow keyboards and a great chorus once more. The one I just can’t make my mind up on is the bluesy Blueberry Queen. One day I love it the next I don’t think it works. It’s a good lazy, rocking chair on the porch number. The music is spot on…..just not sure of the attempted blues growl.

All in all a decent album, with a definite improvement all round. His existing fans will love it and as I said he can expect a good few more. If you like a bit of prog rock and have a guilty secret of loving Britpop this one is for you. There is no need to buy two genres anymore as this one mixes them both lovely.

Fans of Tommy’s work with Between the Buried and Me, as well as fans who steer clear of anything metal related, will find plenty to enjoy here as this is nothing short of a well written, genuine, and intensely passionate modern rock/progressive album. This is Tommy’s take on music, or as he says: “Music is always Modern Noise. I’m just a person in current time trying to create something somewhat new.”

by Ritchie Birnie