The 69 Eyes – The Best of Helsinki Vampires

Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/label: Nuclear Blast Records
Released: 2013
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

HelsinkiVampires2Band line-up:

Jyrki 69 – Lead Vocals
Bazie – Guitar, Vocals
Jussi 69 – Drums
Archzie – Bass, Vocals
Timo-Timo – Guitar


1. Lost Boys
2. Perfect Skin
3. Brandon Lee
4. Lost Without Love
5. Feel Berlin
6. The Chair
7. Dead Girls Are Easy
8. Radical
9. Tonight
10. Dance D’Amour
11. Borderline
12. Dead N Gone
13. Rocker
14. Rosary Blue (Feat. Kat Von D)
15. Never Say Die (Single version)
16. Gothic Girl
17. Betty Blue
18. Sister of Charity
19. Love Runs Away
20. We Own The Night
21. Red
22. Devils (Single Version)
23. Wrap Your Troubles in the Dreams
24. Wasting the Dawn (Remix 2003)
25. Kiss Me Undead
26. Crashing High
27. Stolen Season
28. Ghost


To celebrate the re-releases of several classic albums by the Finnish Goth Rockers The 69 Eyes, The Independent Voice has taken to reviewing each and every one of them.

And finally we end our tour of the gothic Finns’ discography with their most recent compilation chronicling their finest outings: THE BEST OF HELSINKI VAMPIRES.

We open with ‘Lost Boys’, the greatest horror film themed goth anthem to grace the airwaves of recent years, followed up nicely with ‘Perfect Skin’, until we delve into the greatest song ever written by The 69 Eyes: ‘Brandon Lee’. The group’s wonderful homage to the late actor who died giving the best performance of the cult film world is filled with all the passion and lust Eric Draven held for his beloved Shelly Webster and the anguish held towards his victims whom the anti-hero dealt with in such beautiful violence. Anyone who hasn’t seen The Crow should check it out; it really is the best film of the 90s.

Anyway, returning to the album, we chronicle the band’s Glam Metal past with the song ‘Dead Girls Are Easy.’ With a name like that I was thinking of necrophilia, and it does begin with a soundbite of a woman moaning with orgasmic pleasure, but it feels more like a tune about picking up girls at gigs instead of raiding a mortuary.

‘Rosary Blue’ is another highlight, for it features the sensational Kat Von D. Not only is she a beautiful actress, tattoo artist and media personality, but her voice drips like honey over the heartwarming guitar and piano that give the song its romantic vibe suitable for any young couples who cling to each other every night. The 69 Eyes are a very erotic band and they have all the right friends to illustrate just that.

Finally we come to the final act of this compilation with the very sexy ‘Gothic Girl’. Anyone who has dated a gothic lady will relate to this love song for it covers everything you can expect in a woman who takes her beauty from the dark side. Then I was reminded more of classic cult movies like The Warriors in ‘We Own The Night’. Which can be as much about vampires as it can be about gangs and youth groups who take over the streets after dark in the ever present world of wayward teenage life.

‘Kiss Me Undead’ and ‘Crashing High’ close this album with aplomb. But I wasn’t impressed about putting ‘Ghost’ at the end for it is their worst song. A good album needs a good ending and this felt like an anti-climax for me.

Nevertheless, this is a superb compilation that highlights all the gems this Finnish outfit have dug up over the years. The 69 Eyes know how to make skeletons and witchcraft sexy with every carnal drive you can find in Glam Metal. This band have really come into their own and left their mark for sure. Great job remastering all the good stuff guys.

Review by Demitri Levantis