The 69 Eyes – Paris Kills

Distributor/label: Nuclear Blast Records
Released: 2002
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

ParisKills2Band line-up:

Jyrki 69 – Lead Vocals
Bazie – Guitar, Vocals
Jussi 69 – Drums
Archzie – Bass, Vocals
Timo-Timo – Guitar


1. Crashing High
2. Dance D’Amour
3. Betty Blue
4. Grey
5. Radical
6. Don’t Turn Your Back on Fear
7. Stigmata
8. Forever More
9. Still Waters Run Deep
10. Dawn’s Highway
11. You’re Lost Little Girl
12. Carshing High (Remix)


To celebrate the re-releases of several classic albums by the Finnish Goth Rockers The 69 Eyes, The Independent Voice has taken to reviewing each and every one of them.

Here we begin with 2002’s PARIS KILLS. One very well written and composed album that marked the band’s departure from Glam Metal and into more Gothic and even Darkwave territory.

We begin with the very catchy ‘Crashing High’, which talks about the band finding new territory and discovering new fans as far and wide across the globe. There’s tiny elements of Gothic Metal here and there, especially with the wonderful ‘Dance D’Amour’ and this album’s most famous single ‘Betty Blue.’ At times I felt like I was listening to Fields of the Nephilim doing a duet with Andrew Eldritch of the Sisters of Mercy.

Then things become a tad more morose with ‘Radical’ employing a harpsichord and ‘Don’t Turn Your Back on Fear’ telling the audience to face their demons and to be strong in a world so oppressive of all humans. This is typical gothic rock which pleased me to the core and made me ask: why haven’t I listened to this band more often?

Having been released right at the start of the last decade, and in the wake of 9/11, I can’t but help thinking this band were talking about the fears and horrors that lay in the years to come. The 69 Eyes don’t strike me as a political band, nor does goth rock have a very political agenda – but if you read between the lines on these releases, the band are telling the audience that life does suck on many occasions, but there can always be hope. Even in the most darkest and melancholic of entertainment.

Gothic Rock at its finest. Wonderfully remastered. A job well done.

Review by Demitri Levantis