KENT, UK – Melodic tech metal outfit, Subversion, has teamed up with Metal Hammer (UK) to launch a lyric video for the new track, “Imperfect,” taken from the band’s upcoming sophomore release, Animi, due out March 3 on Rogue Records America.

Sophomore album out March 3 via Rogue Records America


Subversion is: Kai Giritli – guitar/vocals, Jay Shields – vocals, Ben Atkinson – drums, Sean Moxom – guitar, Rich Lawry-Johns – bass

Building upon the band’s debut album, Lest We Forget, which released to critical praise from Metal Hammer, Kerrang, Terrorizer, Rock Sound Magazine and more, Subversion describes Animi as “bigger, heavier and sprinkled with a mental amount of epic. We have retained what people loved about the first album and built upon that early foundation in a way that we hope will make you stand back and realize that we are back.”

Stream the new video exclusively at:

Animi was produced, engineered, mixed and mastered by guitarist/vocalist, Kai Giritli. Artwork comes courtesy of Snovonne Drake ( 

Subversion AlbumTracklistings

1.  Born of the Sun
2.  Catalyst
3.  Imperfect
4.  Revelation
5.  Illusion of Eternity
6.  Entropy
7.  In Order to Live (Pt. 2)
8.  Pariah
9.  Novation
10.  Animi


Originating from the mind of Kai Giritli in 2008, Subversion has played internationally with the likes of Tesseract, Mnemic, Monuments, Xerath, Hacktivist and Chimp Spanner and has been part of UK Tech Metal Festival and Euroblast Festival.

The five-piece potently blends hard-hitting vocals from front man, Jay Shields, with Giritli’s soaring, hook-filled clean singing, guitar riffs that sway from heavy groove to epic melody and laser-tight percussion from drummer, Ben Atkinson. Metal Hammer described the band’s debut as “jaw-dropping” while Terrorizer called it “an addictive romp.”

Subversion online…