Sabbath Assembly – Sabbath Assembly

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label: Svart Records
Released: 2015
Buy Album:
Band Website:

Sabbath Assembly
Sabbath Assembly album cover

Guitar / Kevin Hufnagel
Vox / Jamie Myers
Drums / David Christian
Bass / Johnny DeBlase


1.Risen From Below
2.Confessing a Murder
3.Burn Me, I Thirst for Fire
4.Only You
5.The Firey Angel of Desire
6.Ave Satanas
7.Sharp Edge of the Earth
8.Apparition of the Revolution
9.Shadows of Emptiness


Sabbath Assembly is an occult rock band based in Texas and NYC. They formed to play the hymns of the Process Church of the Final Judgment, an apocalyptic religious sect from the late 60’s. The band currently performs and records original songs that maintain its ties to mystical theology.

Their latest album, which is self-titled, is their fifth full length release. Unlike previous albums the band has freed themselves from performing the hymns of the Process Church cult and instead are exploring their own creations. According to their bio this album is about embodiment, addressing all the power and grit required to endure our human existence, rather than exploring spiritual philosophy alone.

The above inspiration has resulted in the conception of an album with an overall seventies psychedelic doom sound. Jamie Myers’ Texan accent and minimal use of inflection in the vocal delivery add to the slightly creepy style. Reminds me of Christina Death when Gitane Demone was a member. Think 70’s horror films however in this one the female lead is seductive sorceress and not a shrieking damsel.

Best listened to after turning out the lights, while burning candles and incense…

Review by Victoria Fenbane