Plainview – Plainview

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/label: Self Released
Released: 2014
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

PlainviewBand line-up:

Dave Smale – Vocals
Jonny Smale – Guitar/Vocals
Danny Cross – Bass
Chris Williams – Drums


1. Slip Through Your Fingers
2. The Last Word
3. No Other Way
4. Wasted Words
5. Sins of the Father
6. Solitaire
7. Take What You Want
8. Aino
9. Look Away
10. The Writing’s on the Wall


The UK Alternative Rock scene has gone through quite a renaissance in the last 14 years. Leaving aside the dreadful onslaught of ‘landfill indie’, the scene has become populated with acts using all kinds of influences from across the rock and metal world. One of those acts whom I think will stay around for a long time and offer something to many different scenes is Plainview. And their debut self-titled album certainly showcases their wide variety of taste.

It’s both heavy and hard rock based on tracks ‘Slip Through Your Fingers’ and ‘The Last Word’ which did make me think of Alice in Chains and the Grunge scene. ‘Wasted Words’ takes on a more traditional punk rock sound, delivering anxiety fused vocals about relations and inner anguish over a set of very jagged power chords. Anyone who remembers the Spin Doctors and Sonic Youth won’t be disappointed by this band.

‘Take What You Want’ and ‘Aino’ continue a traditional metal vibe which led me to conclude that this band is what you get if Led Zeppelin met Soundgarden. I’m impressed because the Grunge scene is proving to be very influential once again and an alternative rock group wanting to stand out from the rest by adding weight to their riffs and drums is always good for me.

This album is angry, frustrated, well written and bizarre at the best of times. Very well done, Plainview.

Review by Demitri Levantis