Panic Lift – Skeleton Key

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/Label: Metropolis
Distributor/label URL:
Released: 2016
Buy album:
Website: http://www.paniclift.n/et

Bands members:13532984_10153538456507461_7588343676698278934_n
James Francis – Vocals, Guitars
Dan Platt – Keyboards, Bass
Ben Tourkantonis – Drums
Track listing:
  1. Time Enough At Last
  2. Paper Mask
  3. This Poison Remains
  4. A Ghost Story
  5. The Path
  6. Of Shadows And Trees
  7. Finally What You Wanted
  8. How Long It Takes To Break
  9. Skeleton Key
  10. Every Day Is Halloween
  11. Mercy Home
  12. From Blue To Black
  13. Lighthouse (By My Side Tonight)

There are many things that set Panic Lift apart from the majority of electronica bands. The big thing most people notice is the lack of …..electronica. They are pretty much a traditional instrument driven trio who happen to write and perform music with that certain vibe. That makes them much more like 80’s giants The Human League than most of today’s hard wired synth jockeys.

Skeleton Key is an album that mixes the drive of rock with the smoothness of electro. The upside is that it blends it together well, the downside is that it’s a bit like getting a lot of brightly coloured paint and stirring it together in one tin. It ends up beige. It’s less Panic Lift and more comfy sofa. That’s not to say it’s all bad at all, particularly if you are one of those people who likes well put together music and thinks that screaming into a microphone is a bit pointless.

When things do go up tempo all is well. ‘The Path’ is like a friendlier version of Psyclon 9 and would do well in a club atmosphere. The slower stuff is more like what Coldplay could have ended up sounding like if they’d chosen different instruments to learn at school. This is a record where you can’t deny the quality but you still feel like you’re getting short changed on the width just a bit.

Review by Gary Trueman