Limp Bizkit – Gold Cobra by Matt Seddon


1. Introbra
2. Bring It Back
3. Gold Cobra
4. Shark Attack
5. Get A Life
6. Shotgun
7. Douche Bag
8. Walking Away
9. Loser
10. Autotunage
11. 90.2.10
12. Why Try
13. Killer In You

Rating 3.5/5

Yes, the lords of NU metal are back, and with their triumphant return have come yet another wicked album from the minds of Fred Durst and co. Gold Cobra is back to basics for Limp Bizkit sounding like the tunes everybody wished for when the Bizkit released less than average albums such as The Unquestionable Truth (Part 1). With great choruses, raps and some of the bounciest NU metal guitar hooks ever.

Limp Bizkit have reaffirmed the faith with party like vibe in metal which the world has once again embraced with open arms and baseball caps. Hold on, because the Bizkit are back, and they are better than ever!

There are so many catchy NU metal anthems on this album that fans of the band and no doubt any metal fan can recognize, as Gold Cobra is one of these albums which will be played at most metal club nights and metal bars. It’s so diverse it’s unbelievable and as well as experimenting with new ideas and styles – Limp Bizkit have gone back to what they do best and as you can see with tracks like ‘Shark Attack’ which is basically Break Stuff’s sister song, and ‘Walking Away’ which breaks up all the aggression and bouncy riffs like My Way off of Chocolate Star Fish and the Hotdog Flavored Water. These 2 tracks alone show that the Bizkit haven’t lost it and are as good, even better in fact than they were 11 years ago!

As per usual Mr. Durst’s choice in lyrics always has your tongue in cheek at just how cheesy and quite frankly…… Rubbish, they are. Gold Cobra does not change lyrically in anyway and the vocal lines are as cheesy as your mum’s milk, but it’s this comedy gold in tracks like ‘Douchebag’ when Fred Durst sings: “Douchebag, I’m going to, fuck you up, fuck you, fuck you, fuck you up”. It’s like Jesus dude, could you not think of anything else apart from swear into a microphone, you’re hilarious, but you’re Limp Bizkit. Think of some awesome lyrics.

The first single to be released from Gold Cobra was the track ‘Gold Cobra’ which not only has the bounciest riff known to man, but also in the music video version has a girl shaking her tits to this killer tune. When you pick out individual parts; one you can see just how awesome of a guitar player Wez Borland is. Two, how powerful Fred Durst’s voice is, and three, just how cool DJ Lethal is.

Gold Cobra has to be the catchiest album of the year. With its crumby, pubescent, gimmicky lyrics and a hell of a sonic boom to back it up with, Limp Bizkit have managed to release one of the finest albums of their career, leaving fans on edge for the next feel good fun fest from the world’s most bad ass band!