Lacrimosa – Revolution by Victoria Fenbane

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label: End of the Light Records

Band line-up:
Tilo Wolff – Vocals, Piano, Keyboards
Anne Nurmi – Vocals, Keyboards, Synths
Mille Petrozza – Guitar
Stefan Schwarzmann – Drums

01. Irgendein Arsch ist immer unterwegs
02. As the world stood still for a day
03. Verloren
04. This is the night
05. Interlude
06. Feuerzug
07. Refugium
08. Weil Du Hilfe brauchst
09. Rote Sinfonie
10. Revolution


Dramatic Swiss dramatic gothic rock act Lacrimosa have been around for ages (22 years to be precise), yet they still come across as one of the fresher gothic rock acts amongst their contemporaries. Immediately recognisable from their theatrical style combined with frontman and mastermind Tilo’s distinctive (usually German) vocals.

Their following in Europe has always been substantially bigger than in the UK, where only standout songs such as ‘Der Morgen Danach’ and ‘Alles Lüge’ get an airing by more discerning goth DJs. ‘Revolution’ is their 11th studio album, following on from ‘Sehnsucht’ released in 2009 and interim compilation album ‘Schattenspiel, released in 2010. ‘Revolution features two prominent guest artists; Mille Petrozza from Kreator on guitar and Stefan Schwarzmann, from Accept on drums.

The pair’s contributions have ;lead to this being a heavier album than would be expected for Lacrimosa, but this is balanced out by the orchestral and choral sounds, which are more characteristic of them. Not that they haven’t occasionally ventured into heavier territory before.

‘Revolution’ opens with the ‘Irgendein Arsch ist Immer Unterwegs’ a piece of powerful symphonic rock, in classic Lacrimosa style. This is followed by ‘As the World Stood Still For a Day’ in which Anne Nurmi takes the lead on vocals. Almost neofolk in percussion style with swirling gothic and Celtic melodies. This is the most accessible song on the album and most likely to be heard during a club night.

‘Verloren’ is where we first hear the influence of the two guests. Symphonic without being metal, it chugs along while keeping to Lacrimosa’s earlier style. Fourth song ‘This is the Night’ Opens with a surprising acapella intro where Lacrimosa allow their theatrical side to dominate with a spot of cabaret. Over the course of five minutes it gets progressively heavier and then returns to the cabaret. An experimental clash of styles I am not personally keen on within Lacrimosa’s sound.

‘Interlude’ (which is a 46 seconds classical piano piece) leads into ‘Feuerzug’ a fast paced ditty with hints of a German Nick Cave, which carries on the cabaret of  ‘This is the Night’. Then the album slows at ‘Refugium’ and ‘Weil Du Hilfe Brauchst’, the latter part of which brings us back to the heavy, yet not quite metal territory again.

‘Rote Sinfonie’ (Red Symphony) is an eleven minute gothic rock symphony, which despite the length is varied enough to maintain the attention. We’re used to Lacrimosa being overindulgent (and getting away with it), however when we get to the heavier sections the sound is rough and unfinished due to an obvious clashing between the old and new styles of the band.

Closing and title song ‘Revolution’ is the most ‘metal, while yet again still not quite getting out of rock territory. It is powerful, dark, gothic, classic OTT Lacrimosa with touches of Das Ich; which ages it a little but will please long term fans, who may have been disappointed by the change of style of this album

Overall ‘Revolution is difficult to rate – fans of the band will love it but views of other fans of gothic rock would not be as complementary. Saying that, it is a varied album and could possess something for everyone. Experimental in places and definitely experimental for Lacrimosa, who are not shy when it comes to being expressive.