Kyte – Love to be Lost by Ben Spencer

Band Name: Kyte
Album Name: Love to be Lost
Rating: 3/5
Distributor/Label: Eastworld Release
Released: 2013

Band line up:
Nick Moon: Vocals
Tom Lowe: Guitars/ Keyboard
Scott Hislop: Drums

Track listing:
1. Breaking Bones
2. Scratches
3. You & I
4. Almost Life
5. Over After
6. Every Nightmare
7. Friend Of A Friend
8. September 5th
9. Aerials
10. Half Alone
11. Love To Be Lost
12. Blood Anger
13. Salt In The Water (Bonus Demo)
14. Sickly Words of Wisdom (Bonus Demo)

Having heard of these guys from their early days from being signed to Erased Tape Records and having personally been a follower of some of the musical outfit’s the label itself produced I was intrigued when receiving this album. The UK based three-piece formed back in 2007 and have since been playing various sold-out shows across Japan, Eastern Asia and Europe.

The album has an on the whole a gentility to it that is immersive as it is subtle at times. With well thought lyrics and expansive sounds. The electronic dynamics bounce back and forth to a more than satisfying degree. Sensual at times and illusive at others, they seem to harness a focus upon radiating song structures that beam bright, not in their technicalities, but more in the conjuration of layering.

Opening to the symphonic textures of ‘Breaking Bones’ the track unravels slowly with steady drumming as the clean vocals intercept with well-timed precision.

Next up, ‘Scratches’ which delivers a synth indie pop feel to it. The backing vocals and pumping bass keeps the rhythm going. Meanwhile, the vocal harmonies of ‘You & I’ make the tonality instantly accessible in its catchy use of melodies.

Slight dashes of Post Rock esque grandeur can be found in the guitars of ‘Almost Life’ and in the delicacies of ‘Aerials’ that drift by seamlessly. Mid album highlight, ‘September 5th’ adds a more sombre, colouring with its instrumental passages as the drums can be vaguely heard echoing off into the distance.

One of the more memorable moments can be found in ‘Half Alone’ that has an almost 80’s electro vibe pervading throughout its light use of drumming and guitar strumming.

The two bonus tracks ’Salt in the Water’ and ’Sickly Words of Wisdom’ carry forward many of the aforementioned qualities found in the album’s main bulk itself. Nothing too out of the ordinary can be found here, but it does certainly provide fans with a value for money and is something they’ll no doubt cherish.

Overall, quite an interesting offering guaranteed to fill the appetites of those who like their music more melodic and gentle on the ears. The instrumentation and production itself are a worthy addition to the package as a whole.

However, some tracks don’t really appear to go anywhere and there is a slight sense of repetition to be found, with songs following a slightly formulaic approach. This being said, when it comes to producing this quality of music, Kyte showcase a mastery in their forge and on this merit alone they do set themselves apart from their peers.

So if you’re into this style of music or want to try something different, these guys may be able to provide you with something that is something accessible and unique in its own way.