K-X-P – III (Part One)

Rating: 4.5 / 5
Distributor/label: http://www.svartrecords.com/
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/kxp.official
Released: 2015

KXP_III_part1_PROMO_Cover_240x120mm.inddBand line-up:

Timo Kaukolampi (electronics, vocals and the ‘K’), Tuomo Puranen (bass, keyboards and the ‘P’), and alternating drummers (the ‘X’ – for the mystery) Tomi Leppänen and, in the studio and on rare occasions live, Anssi Nykänen


01 Psychic Hybernation
02 Space Precious Time
03 Ra
04 Obsolete And Beyond
05 Siren’s Dawn
06 Descend To Eternal


On this Finnish band’s third album, they mix up some techno, ambient, goth, post-punk, and new wave to such a thrilling effect, that you get drawn in and the album goes by too fast. Even with three of the six tracks being close to, or over the ten minute mark, you get carried away by the music and the time just flies by…too fast.

With most of the songs being instrumental, the one that really stuck out the most to me, and was my favourite, was “Space Precious Time” with its mix of post-punk, new wave and goth coming together with such precision that I had to play it again and again. The song could definitely have been put out way back in the early ’80s and fit in perfectly with that time period, but as a new track, it was gorgeous. The playing is immaculate, as is the production, smooth, clear and tight.

Every song is played with heart and conviction, making this an album that will get a ton of plays at my house and you need to pick this one up. Put on your headphones, turn the lights down, and let the music take you away, away from everything…except the lush sounds on display here.

Review by Rick Ecker