JUNIUS – Eternal Rituals for the Accretion of Light

Rating: 2.5/5
Distributor/label: Prosthetic Records
Distributor/label URL: https://prostheticrecords.com/
Released: 2017
Buy Album: https://store.prostheticrecords.com/brand/junius
Band Website: http://www.juniusmusic.com/Junius_Eternal_3000x3000

Band line-up:

Joseph E. Martinez – vocals, lyrics, guitar, synths
Dana Filloon – drums


1. March of The Samsara
2. Beyond the Pale Society
3. A Mass for Metaphysicians
4. Clean The Beast
5. All That Is, Is of The One
6. The Queen’s Constellation
7. Telepaths & Pyramids
8. Masquerade in Veils
9. Heresy of the Free Spirit
10. Black Sarcophagus


Junius is an American rock band from Boston, Massachusetts that formed in 2003. The band name is taken after Junius, the pseudonym of a political writer who lived during the late 18th century. The album marks the completion of their conceptual trilogy which began in 2009 with their LP The Martyrdom of a Catastrophist. Following the departure of former member Mike Repasch-Nieves (guitars), the album was entirely written and performed by vocalist/guitarist Joseph E. Martinez. The album also features guest appearances from Drew Speziale (Circle Takes the Square) and Gian Minardi (General Public).

While listening to this album, all I could think was that it sounded like Deadsy, both in vocals and in music, except that I play Deadsy music now and again, and this probably not in the future. Both bands have the deep goth vocals that are occasionally over the top, although Junius’ get a bit tedious after a few songs, the dragging and creepy music that again gets boring after a while on this album. There is no change in tone, nothing to give the listener something to grab hold of, it’s a one note affair that doesn’t push anything. Well, except for one small break with the soft instrumental “All That Is, Is of the One.” This song is atmospheric, and a breath of fresh air from the staleness of the rest of the album; if only they would have done more with that, but they did get one track that tried to add it, the very next track “The Queen’s Constellation,” which could have flowed from the previous song, but didn’t, instead the songs are just neighbours, not attached.

Still, “The Queen’s Constellation” is by far the most interesting song on the album to me. It has the atmosphere, coming on like a newer Depeche Mode song, albeit with goth vocals, and more angst. “Masquerade in Veils” sounds like a song from the Mission when they get all acoustic and mellow, another song that I liked on here. The songs, while played well, lack passion and feel a bit forced, and the vocals filled with angst and the deepness got old fast.

I like three out of ten songs, not great, but still better than a lot of other music that I hear, so I guess it’s not too bad. I would like the band to explore more of the sounds on the three songs that I liked and try to push themselves more next time.

Review By: Rick Ecker