Journey Into Darkness – Infinite Universe Infinite Death

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: Spirit Coffin Publishing
Released: 2021
Buy Album: Bandcamp
Band Website: Facebook

Band line-up:

Brett Clarin – All Instruments & Vocals


1. Leave This Place
2. Infinite Disillusion
3. Scattered Amongst the Stars
4. Cosmic Knot
5. Impossible Universe
6. Infinite Universe, Infinite Death
7. The Briefest Moment
8. Entanglement
9. Infinite Universe, Infinite Death (Arranged)


Black metal and space are two things I very much enjoy and seeing them put together to create the finest forms of music imaginable, makes this critic particularly happy. Such a trend has been quite popular in American bands of recent times such as Imperialist or Sxuperion – but there is one band who started doing this long before those guys. I am talking about Journey Into Darkness, a one-man project that mysteriously vanished from the metal scene over a quarter of a century ago but returned last year. And said band has now returned with a third studio outing: “Infinite Universe Infinite Death.”

This album, from the mind of USBM veteran Brett Clarin, explodes into your ears like a hail of asteroids striking the sides of spacecraft. One thing I always look out for is a good opening to an album so that was sorted for sure. It then continues to blast and howl like an icy ride through hyperspace delivering anthem after anthem of symphonic black metal mixed with some death metal horror and the gloomy eeriness of darkwave music.

One thing to note about this band is that it pulls no punches and Clarin doesn’t seem to have spent his time away from metal doing nothing. Instead, we have the works of a man who has been working on himself both musically and lyrically, with songs covering the doom and dissonance of space, time, and plenty of themes to make any keen reader of science fiction smile.

If I were to describe this album by comparing it to any other big names, imagine symphonic death metal group Fleshgod Apocalypse on a space station accompanied by USBM veterans Abigail Williams playing a live show together over intergalactic airwaves, similar to the fictional band “Disaster Area” from The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. In other words, it’s symphonic blackened death metal best played on a medium to make it the loudest noise of any kind at all.

Music deserves to celebrate the wonders of space, time, and sci-fi as does any other art form, and here is a metal band that deserves to be recognized with all the praise and awe an experienced musician like Brett Clarin deserves.

Review by Demitri Levantis