Rating : 4/5
Distributor : The Path Less Traveled Records
Released : 30 September 2014
Buy album :
Band website :

htdc album coverBAND LINE-UP

James Bailey : Vocals , guitar
Michael Watson : Bass
Ian MacNeil : Drums
Devon Robillard : Drones
Kyle Heath : Guitar


1. Salt of the Earth
2. Outpatient
3. Closer to Me
4. Cucumber Melon
5. A Call (in)to Arms
6. Nightmaring
7. Fall Like Love
8. Bella
9. Prozac Smile
10. ‘Riss
11. Matriarch
12. Daughters of Eve


When you see the name of the band, it’s hard not to smile, what a strange name for a band that I suppose would like to be around for some time, right? It’s hard also not to think of the Radiohead title, which is exactly the same. How To Disappear Completely (or HTDC) though succeeds in not reminding us at all of one of our most mysterious and talented modern music heroes, except for one similarity maybe…

The rock quintet is from Syracuse, NY, USA. Daughters of Eve is their first album, after having released a first single in 2012 “Closer Te Me” which gained them some regular airplay in their local radio stations, and appears in the album.

So what is their first full length effort like? Well, it is the perfect soundtrack for a depressing rainy Sunday afternoon. It leans towards shoegazing mood, but still heavy enough to not find yourself lying on the floor. It is “atmospheric” as in makes you float in the air and and analyse that weird shaped shape on the ceiling.

Throughout the album, starting with Salt of the Earth, James, the vocalist leads us through his smooth thunes, sultry almost sensuous and whispering (Chino?) until the guitars break and he starts screaming his guts out (Corey?).  The whispering is almost romantic and the screams are very tortured and distorted. Can I say I dig it!

A depressed ethereal sound that’s pretty powerful. Both melodic, heavy, new-wave-y at parts. The keyboards are ever so present but work well with the guitars. Creating anthemic tunes like Daughters of Eve, last title of the album which concludes it in a dramatic way. Gentle and gripping.

In a nutshell, HTDC have succeeded in creating a very intense record, heavily conveying emotions, be it lust or pain, the music powerful in riffs and melodies and yet creating a dense atmosphere, the one that makes you want to cuddle your cat and moan at the world. All through remaining classy and elegant in the delivery of their art. An iron hand in a velvet glove. My soundtrack for a depressing rainy Sunday. With such a record, it is only fair to say that they must have chosen their name by reverse psychology. They do not want to disappear completely.