Head Charger – Slow Motion Disease by Ben Spencer

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/Record Label: BIS Records
Band Line-up
Seb: Vocals
Babz: Guitar
Rom: Bass
Antony: Guitar
Matt: Drums

Album Tracklisting
1. All Night Long
2. Don’t Need You
3. Using People As One of The Fine Arts
4. Fires of Hell
5. Should Be Running
6. Dusty Dreams
7. The Life of A Drifter
8. Spain Summer Rain
10. Annoying ‘n’ Noisy
11. Slow Motion Disease

Since the bands formation in 2005, Head Charger have been busy releasing four studio albums and creating quite a buzz through out Europe they left their mark on big festival names such as Sonisphere and Hellfest imprinting their trademark sound of Metal ‘n’ Roll upon current fans and new ones.

Their latest album Slow Motion Disease opens with the catchy feel-good riffs of ‘All Night Long’ as the husky raw sounding vocals crash into the grunge fuelled riffs an pumping drums. The second verse kicks in some lead guitar and clapping intervenes into the slick edgy groove that keeps going throughout.

‘Don’t Need You’, unravels with fully loaded guitar work and steady drumming. Vocally the track feels heavier with a huskier vocal tonality driving the weight of the song head first into an all out collision of alternative rock instrumentation. The track bursts into a sing-along chorus that’s full of energy, whilst mid breakdown slows the tempo down with a brief melodic guitars that ascend into a solo led climax.
Plenty of guitar distortion and punchy guitar work can be found in ‘Fires of Hell’ along with a strong hard rocking chorus. Meanwhile, ‘Dusty Dreams’ reigns down into heavier and more agonizing territory with a gritty use of guitars and bass that borders upon more Metal sounding terrain. However, its the melodic interlude passage that should get grab most peoples attention with a sense of inner torment resonating within its core, “Take me back me back to memories I can’t erase”.

The instrumental track, ‘The Life of A Drifter’ reveals a whole new direction to the band so far, which pleases the ears with its dream like descends into ambience.

A personal stand out track is ‘Spain Summer Sun’ which explodes from an infectious drum led intro into some of the well-constructed choruses of dirty guitar work and plenty more guitar distortion.

The record departs on the album’s title-track ‘Slow Motion Disease’, a mournful acoustic track that is as reflexive as it is immersive. Lyrics, have been a strong point so far and this is perhaps the most well written and desolate of songs that will leave a wasteland soundscape sweeping across your minds-eye, very impressive work guys.

Overall, I found a lot of potential from listening to this record. From the clear sounding production and interesting use of experimentation, the album does not fall into a formulaic procession of tracks that repeat the same ideas. So whether your looking for some accessible, hard hitting rock songs to get you head banging or looking for something deeper and more internal, these guys may be able to help, having carved an album that strikes a nerve with both the record does have a completeness to it that that should satisfy a broad range of music lovers. It will be interesting to see where these guys go next.