Halifax, Nova Scotia based progressive metal band, Forward Unto Dawn have outdone themselves on their sophomore work—a seven track EP that tells a multi-faceted story by way of winding riffs and pulsating grooves. ALPHA is the culmination of a broad variety of influences and as a result exudes the technicality and beauty of jazz while keeping with the heaviness that is a staple in metal music. 

Forward Unto Dawn


ALPHA was recorded in Spider Studios in Cleveland, Ohio (Battlecross, Chimaira, Ringworm) and mastered by the legendary Joey Sturgis (Born Of Osiris, The Acacia Strain).

About Forward Unto Dawn

Forward Unto Dawn is a 5-piece progressive metal band hailing from Canada’s East Coast.
The band offers a unique and fun combination of both heavy and groove oriented rhythms with enticing and catchy leads, packaged in an energy heavy live performance. Their willingness to delve out of what is expected within their genre and their drive to push boundaries truly allows Forward Unto Dawn to explore a wide variety of structures and sounds in a manner that feels instinctive.
Taking influence from classic legends such as Dream Theater, modern progressive giants like Between The Buried & Me, and even infusing elements of jazz and blues in their sound sets Forward Unto Dawn apart, allowing them to create music that a wide audience can appreciate.

Forward Unto Dawn – ALPHA Release Tour
July 23rd – Halifax, NS – Gus’ Pub w/ Sinthetik
July 24th – Truro, NS – The Split Crow w/ Sinthetik
July 25th – Saint John, NB – Pub Down Under w/ Sinthetik
July 26th – TBA w/ Sinthetik
July 30th – Montreal, QC – Piranha Bar w/ Sinthetik
July 31st – Ottawa, ON – Pressed w/ Sinthetik
August 1st – Toronto, ON – Rancho Relaxo w/ Sinthetik and Luminary
August 2nd – Hamilton, ON – The Doors Pub w/ Sinthetik and Luminary
August 3rd – London, ON – The APK w/ Sinthetik and Luminary

For Fans Of: Dream Theater, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Born Of Osiris

Forward Unto Dawn is:
Din Stonehouse – Vocals

Dylan Wallace – Guitar
Taran Murray – Guitar
Devan Smith – Bass
Nick MacDonald – Drums

ALPHA EP – 2015
We Won’t Die EP – 2012

ALPHA Details
Recorded April 2014 at Spider Studios in Cleveland, OH
Executive Producer: Terry Coughlin
Produced by: Tony Gammalo & Forward Unto Dawn
Engineered by: Tony Gammalo
Engineering Assistance by: Scott Mandato 
Mixed by: Matt Dalton 
Mastered by: Joey Sturgis 

Band Links