Faitissa – Terra Aviatica

Rating:     1/5
Distributor/label: Self-Released
Released: 2014
Buy Album [URL]: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Terra-Aviatica-Faitissa/dp/B00I5UN9M8
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/Faitissa/timeline

[REVIEW] [ALAN HOLLOWAY] Faitissa – Terra AviaticaBand line-up:

Aloysia: Vocals
Jorge Lamata: Guitar, percussion


1. Waiting for the rain
2. Iron Awake
3. Tri martolod
4. Catro vellos mariñeiros
5. A la una yo nací
6. Mia irmana fremosa
7. Se l’aura spira
8. La dama d’Aragó
9. Hija mía
10. Queen of Brehequem
11. La jument de Michao
12. Chosen by Skuld
13. Ad Semper


I’m sure there’s a place where Spanish folk music is all the rage, but I imagine it’s a small club in space where people wear tank tops and quaff oddly named beers. The album title means ‘land of the forefathers’, and with this debut we hear the band playing about with the sort of music that gets Richie Blackmore excited these days.
One thing I can say without fear of any comebacks is that this is not rock music. This is medieval folk and nothing more. Maybe they should have sent it to ‘Folk-Rules’, because, and I cannot say this too many times, it isn’t any sort of rock music.

Now we know where we stand, is it any good? Well, I can honestly say that it’s the best Spanish folk album I have ever heard. Like any medieval music it’s all pretty much of a muchness, with flute and lute widdling along together whilst vocalist Aloysia sings nicely over the top about knights, horses, plagues and very unsanitary toilets (probably).
It’s pretty boring, but so far only Blackmore’s Night have managed to make this sort of guff remotely interesting, and then only just.

Not for me, obviously, but if you genuinely like folk music this might suit you to the ground.

Review by Alan Holloway