Exist Immortal – Breathe

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/label: Primordial Records
Distributor/label URL: http://primordialrecords.limitedrun.com/
Released: 2016
Buy Album: http://primordialrecords.limitedrun.com/products/578324-pre-order-exist-immortal-breathe-digipack
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/existimmortal/

Band line-up: Exist Immortal

Meyrick de la Fuente -Vocals
Kurt Valencia – Guitar
James Hewitt – Guitar
David Billote – Bass/Vocals
Charlie Bines – Drums

Track Listing:

1. Saviour
2. In Hindsight
3. Invisible Lines
4. Misconduct
5. Follow Alone
6. Erode
7. Escape
8. Lucid
9. Breathe
10. Release
11. Chi

Having had the privilege of touring with bands including Sikth, Heart of a Coward, Fallujah and Circles, Exist Immortal have travelled across the UK, Europe and even as far as India. It is not surprising that they have really stepped up their game with their most recent release – Breathe.

Following the release of their debut album Darkness of an Age in 2014, Breathe is their second album to be released on Primordial Records. It is apparent that whilst working on this album, Exist Immortal have fine-tuned and perfected their sound, bringing us a collaboration of genre-spanning melodic metal, which is both visionary and precise in both approach and execution.

“Follow Alone” was the first single released off the album and it really encompasses both the passion and the power which the band possess. Incorporating the band’s most distinctive elements including thought provoking lyrics, ‘if you empty your soul, you will see it all’, with soaring vocals, heavy riffs and intricate polyrhythmic guitar solos – this track alone is enough to get you hooked onto this remarkable album.

Their most recent single “Erode” is another heavy-duty track, offering polyrhythmic string play and the continuation of effortlessly blended layers which create a robust and self-assured sound.

Amongst Meyrick de la Fuentes’ soaring vocals and the distinctive chugging guitars layered with intricate riffs, we have the predominantly instrumental track “Release”, which creates an eerie ambiance illustrating the imagination and versatility of the band. On the other hand, “Invisible Lines”, is beefed-up with aggressive and pulsating blast-beat drums. Including the lyrics ‘ignorance won’t feed the world’, it is apparent that Exist Immortal not only create poignant characteristic sounding tracks, but their lyrics are as equally distinctive.

One of the most outstanding qualities of this album is that no two tracks sound the same, yet they all portray a very distinct ‘Exist Immortal’ sound. Throughout the album the tracks experiment with a plethora of metal subgenres ranging from classic-prog to industrial, and the band have executed their influences in both a refreshing and traditional style.

Coming to the end of their ‘Breathe’ tour, I think it’s safe to say that the future is looking positive for Exist Immortal and that 2017 could shape up to be a pretty big year!

Review by: Pixee