ESO – Nothing Left To Lose by Jo Blackened

Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/label: Trak Records

Band line-up:
Tobias Keast: Lead Vocals
Laura Conway: Guitar
Cloud Cerberus: Bass
Luke Keast: Drums
Carl Johnston: Guitar

01. The Awakening
02. Birds in a Hurricane
03. The Divide
04. You’ll Never Know
05. Brand New Suit
06. You Are Mine
07. It Rains
08. We Are Watching You
09. A New Beginning
10. When You Leave
11. Running Blind
12. End of Days
13. Remember Me


ESO (formerly known as esOterica) are an Alternative Rock band from London, United Kingdom.
They have previously released two studio albums, “The Fool” in 2005 and “The Riddle” in 2009, five singles, “Don’t Rely on Anyone” in 2005, “Tomorrow I Won’t Remember”, “Silence” in 2009 and “Scream” in 2010.

The new single for their third studio album is “We Are Watching You”and was released on 2nd July 2012. The next single “The Divide” will be released on the 1st October 2012 with their new album “Nothing Left To Lose” to be released on 22nd October 2012, however this date is subject to change, but we are lucky enough to get our hands on a copy! Their debut single features Mike from DevilDriver and produced by Matt Hyde (Fightstar, Newton Faulkner).

It is no surprise ESO’s fan base has been growing since they were a supporting act to Marilyn Manson across Europe in 2009 and have played Download Festival two years running.

It’s great to see ESO back, with a new name and new sound and despite afew line up changes in the past, they certainly have found their feet now with this release.

‘Nothing Left To Lose’ begins with a really beautiful intro track, before the guitars kick in with the amazing voice of Tobias Keast. Every track is well written and produced and has their own individual sounds which go down different paths, including different melodies and elements, but all filled with passion.

With 13 tracks, there are some songs that stand out more than others, but every track sounds great and is filled with energy and has a good balance of Alternative Modern Rock, which also combines some sounds of dance and even dubstep elements.

For fans who have been eagerly awaiting this release, I can’t see any of them being disappointed and it is no surprise that their first headline show this year, is already looking to be Sold Out!

It’s always great to see bands out there who are brave enough to push today’s modern boundaries!
Great Album Guys!