Elephant Stone – Ship Of Fools

Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/label: http://www.burgerrecords.org/
Released: 2016
Buy album: http://burgerrecords.11spot.com/elephant-stone-ship-of-fools.html
Band Website: http://www.elephantstone.ca/

es-album-coverBand line-up:

Rishi Dhir – vocals / bass / sitar
Miles Dupire – drums / backing vocals
Gabriel Lambert – guitar / backing vocals


1. Manipulator
2. Cast The First Stone
3. Where I’m Going
4. Photograph
5. See The Light
6. Run, Sister, Run
7. Love Is Like A Spinning Wheel
8. Andromeda
9. The Devil’s Shelter
10. Silence Can Say So Much
11. Au Gallis


Digitally released in September, Elephant Stone’s fourth record hits the UK physical stores now in November. In this new work, the trio led by Rishi Dhir has toned down a little its “Hindie Rock” (in case you’ve been missing out, yes, that’s the fusion of “Hindu” and “indie”, the Elephant in the name coming from the Ganesha deity); the sitar and tabla are still there but sound more subtle, just a background hush in a fluid late-seventies/early-eighties vibe. Mind that it’s not a change in direction, but simply a different use of the same elements, in order to prevent repetition and simultaneously keep in character. Although truth be told, when one listens to the lullaby-like “Run, Sister, Run”, the disco-ish “Love Is Like A Spinning Wheel” or the sidereal “Andromeda” – songs where the original Hindie nature is stronger – they all sound pretty refreshing still.

Enhancing their rock side, “Manipulator”, for instance, bears a hint of T-Rex, and “Photograph” blows a whiff of The Beatles, but they’re nothing more than influences – in no way there’s any kind of rip-off. In fact, they took those influences and made them sound like their own, meaning that both the more traditional as this newer approach suits Elephant Stone, and all the eleven tracks featured in “Ship Of Fools” are distinctive and quite the treat.

Review by Renata Lino