Dropbunny – IO by Ben Spencer

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/Label: Independent
Band Members
Xero – Vocals, Guitar, pig tails
John Barrymore – Bass, trench coat warfare
Frasher – Drums, annoying wailing
Tirunideth – vocals, self flagellation, violin
Flockodile – vocals, xylophone
Mothface – guitars

Album Track listing

2.Irredeemably Fucked
4.Portrait of a Young Man as a Shithead
5.The Nightmare From Which You Cannot Awaken
6.Another Lost Kid
7.Exit Sub
8.Hits Limbo From A Great Height
9.This Relentless Momentum
11.Gimpman Cometh
13.Pentagonal Plywood Prison
16.The Architecture Is Wrong
18.There’s Nothing Here And It Screams


Melbourne’s experimental metal sextet Drop Bunny are band whose subversion of musical genres is something that becomes clear upon an initial listen . Having earned a reputation for discarding musical genres, their second album IO represents the next milestone in a career that has been forged by relentless tours across America and Australia.

Beginning the 18 track record, ‘Plummet’ opens with acoustic guitar and spoken vocals, before screaming wades in with heavy guitar riffs, eccentric drumming and well coordinated drumming as the lyrics “There is nothing here and it screams” echoes as a central theme to the narrative.

Breaking into full force with, ‘Irredeemably fucked’ the catchy guitars and piercing clean vocals that jump between the enraged shrieks corrode with grooving guitar riffs that are guaranteed to get heads turning.

‘CDFA’ comes with a punchy bass lead, whilst vocals bleed with desperation and raw energy capturing the right balance between good song writing and emotive angst ridden energy.

Personal stand out track, ‘The Nightmare from which you awaken’ has a slight grind-core edge that is reminiscent of Converge, with speedy vocals and a tantalising drum work. Meanwhile, ‘Another Lost Kid’ has a more down tuned feel, with well orchestrated vocal layers and shifts guided by the ecstatic drumming.

‘Hits Limbo From A Great Height’ paints a bleak picture with its bass lines that soon speeds into an assortment of time signature changes and good lead guitar work which bursts into some freestyle funk section.

Hitting a raw nerve with, ‘This Relentless Momentum’ the furious riffs from both guitarists and throat bleeding vocals leads into ‘Jumped’, a darkly lit soundscape venture into the band’s melodic tendencies, that never loses its focus upon the well crafted opaque scenery.
‘The Architecture is Wrong’ has an acoustic intro with heavier riffs swaying in and out, before drums speed up into growling, a riff beast of a song that’s ready to claw its way into your ears and leave you wanting more. The guitar melodies transition with some interesting twist and turns that showcase the band’s strong creative streak.

Finally, ‘There’s Nothing Here and it screams’ opens with an eerie intro and group vocals before guitars wade their way with some distortion and spoken words mid section. A solid lead guitar breaks in with weighty drums which accelerate the second half along with a drum solo which eventually disperses into a fuzzy backdrop as vocals an instruments gradually fade out.

Overall, this is quite a mouthful of music that should satisfy most listeners who have an interest in experimental acts as well as fans of the more song orientated bands. Somehow, what Drop Bunny have done is fuse the two together in cohesive way that doesn’t feel overly pretensions nor too generic. What is offered here is a pretty solid assortment of tracks that sit well together. The only gripe I have; and it is a small one, is that the record is quite a lengthy one and it does show in certain areas. What is clear however, is that a lot of hard work has gone into this album and for that reason alone it is more than worth giving these guys a much needed spin.