Dead Soul – The Sheltering Sky

Rating: 3.5
Distributor/label: Century Media
Released: 2015

dead-soul 500x500

Band line-up:

Anders Landelius – Vocals, Guitars
Niels Nielsen – Multi-instrumentalist


1. Until The Last Breath
2. The Fool
3. Shattered Dreams
4. In Between
5. Dirt Road
6. Ladies & Gentlemen…
7. The Abyss
8. Home By The Sea
9. Thy Will Be Done
10. The Final Day



Swedish duo Dead Soul sees an interesting cooperation between blues musician Anders Landelius, the multi-instrumentalist and producer Niels Nielsen. And the product of such an unusual union? An industrial take on blues, mixed in with darker and more aggressive undertows. Having spent time touring with Ghost and The Haunted, this year sees Dead Soul back with their second full-length album, entitled “The Sheltering Sky”.

The electronic effects that Niels Nielsen brings to the mix are apparent right off the bat with the first song “Until The Last Breath”, bringing in an almost synthpop sound that gives way to a heavier and obscurer soundscape that has a slight The Doors feel to it. “The Fool” on the other hand starts off with a super groovy opening which gives way to a more melodic and catchy chorus that is guaranteed to have you singing along by the second listen, and is perhaps one of the highlights of the album. This is a very diverse album, with everything from doom to gospel influences being artfully woven into the soundscapes. Ranging from the slow and almost ballad-like “Dirt Road” all the way through to the industrial influences on “The Abyss”, this album has a little bit of everything thrown in. Surprisingly however, the blues inspirations brought in by Anders Landelius aren’t as much in the foreground as one would have imagined, perhaps with the exception being the vocal style used. Ending off the album with “The Final Day”, a gripping and emotional melody soothingly brings the listener gently back down from the journey that “The Sheltering Sky” takes you on.

Furthermore, as can be expected from such experienced musicians, the recording and production quality of “The Sheltering Sky” is also perfect, making each track clean and crisp. One thing that must be said however is that this is definitely not something for everyone; but for those with a broad music taste, “The Sheltering Sky” is a unique album that could very well be worth checking out. In a time when repetitiveness and generic music has become a social norm, it’s like a breath of fresh air to come across something so different. And for fans in Europe, be sure to catch them on their European tour with Ghost later on this year.

Review by Erika Kuenstler