It doesn’t matter if we all die

 The Cure has long been a source of inspiration for the dark side of music, and their nihilistic, gloomy earlier works provided a template for musicians across a wide spectrum of genres, not least the extreme metal community. Mort Subite and Martti Hill consider now the time for a fitting tribute to this influential band, taking the atmosphere of Pornography, Faith and other classics, and reworking the music into harsher moods. The result: Curezum. 



As a showcase of what’s to come, the band are unveiling a two-track single which sees them tackling two very discrete sides to The Cure: the post-punk classic “One Hundred Years” and the psychedelic meandering of “The Top”.

The single was released December 10th, with a physical release planned for early 2016.


Pushing the limits of what one might call a “supergroup,” Curezum, at its core, is an extreme metal tribute to The Cure featuring a motley crew of some of metals most seemingly disparate characters. Implausible as it may sound, after a discussion about mutual musical interests, Mort (Megaton Leviathan, Vaital DeulAlfheimr) and Martti (Barrowlands) discovered they were both, independently, keenly aware of how relatively simple it would be to take the album Pornography by The Cure and re-imagine it as a black metal record.

From those inauspicious beginnings, Curezum was born. After some initial runs with a handful of trial members, and bit of a hiatus while both Mort and Martti’s other projects released material, Billy Anderson (Melvins, Porn, Blessing the Hogs, Deathstench) signed on for additional production duties, and a wide array of Portland area metal artists were drafted for a variety of guest performances. As of this writing, the first Curezum album is currently in production, and live rehearsals have begun in earnest. Meanwhile, Curezum’s members are stocking up on popcorn to eat whilst reading comments regarding the weird Cronenberg monster they’ve birthed.

Curezum are:
Rob Vikernes – Lead vocals, rhythm guitar, kebabs.
Mort Subite – Lead guitar, additional vocals, keyboards, programming.
Billy Anderson – Bass guitar, other guitar.
Martti Hill – Drums, pleasing demeanor.