Album to be released by Spinefarm Records. Ragnarok Juletide

First single We Celebrate At Christmastime revealed…

There was a time when Christmas songs and albums were works of genuine quality; a celebration of a time of year supposed to bring a smile rather than a scowl… Well, that’s certainly the inspiration behind ‘Ragnarok Juletide’ – an ambitious outing put together by a stellar line-up of singers & musicians, set for release via Spinefarm Records onDecember 8th.

Already a 10-year success in Finland under the ‘Raskasta Joulua’ (‘Heavy Christmas’) banner, this all-star symphonic project has now been given a fresh title and a more international flavour, with English vocals added and the choice of singers streamlined – these now include Elize Ryd from AmarantheMarco Hietala from NightwishTarot &Northern KingsTony Kakko from Sonata Arctica & Northern Kings and Antti Railio (2013 ‘Voice Of Finland’ winner).

The choice of material is traditional, but that’s just where the story starts, as the combination of A-list Finnish musicians plus vocalists who can really deliver the goods constantly adds new dimensions and emotions – not to mention a twist that is both dramatic and metallic. The result is a record that can be appreciated either as a stirring celebration of the season of goodwill, a body of work fit to melt the most Scrooge-like of sensibilities, or as an entertaining, multi-flavoured rock album capable of standing on musical merits alone.

Check out the first track to be revealed, We Celebrate At Christmastime, on Soundcloud:


1. “We Celebrate At Christmastime”
2. “The First Noel”
3. “Here On The Hay”
4. “Little Drummer Boy”
5. “The Elf”
6. “Christmas Is Here”
7.  “Sylvia’s Song”
8. “White Christmas”
9. “Home For Christmas”
10. “A Sparrow On A Christmas Morning”
11. “Christmas Has Come”
12. “Ave Maria”

The Voices Line-up:

Elize Ryd
Marco Hietala
J.P. Leppäluoto
Tony Kakko
Jarkko Ahola
Ari Koivunen
Pasi Rantanen
Antti Railio
Ville Tuomi
Antony Parviainen
Tuple Salmela
Kimmo Blom

The Band Line-up:

Erkka Korhonen —guitar, arrangments
Tuomas Wäinölä —guitar
Vili Ollila —keys
Mirka Rantanen —drums
Erkki Silvennoinen —bass


Raskasta Joulua (2004)
Raskaampaa Joulua (2009)
Raskasta Joulua (2013)
Ragnarok Juletide (2014)