Alcest – Les Voyages De L’Âme by Jo Blackened

Band line-up:
Neige : guitars/bass, synths and vocals.
Winterhalter : drums

Album Tracklisting:
01. Autre temps
02. Là où naissent les couleurs nouvelles
03. Les voyages de l’âme
04. Nous sommes l’emeraude
05. Beings Of Light
06. Faiseurs de mondes
07. Havens
08. Summer’s Glory


Alcest latest release ‘Les voyages de l’âme’ (‘The Journeys of the Soul’) is the bands third album after their debut EP in 2005.

The album holds a dreamy atmosphere throughout with chilled sounds and some great melodies, with the songs mainly consisting of smooth clean vocals, with very few black metal elements in there.

For me personally I found there to be something missing from this album…maybe it needs another ingredient to hold the songs together, but I did still enjoy many of the tracks with afew of them standing out amongst the rest and liked the fact some of the tracks were over 8minutes long.

‘Là où naissent les couleurs nouvelles’ was one of my favourites but would’ve been better if the black metal vocals had been used throughout instead of just for one verse, but that’s my personal preference as the vocals did seem to remain the same in most tracks and I was waiting for more black metal to return.

The music is amazing though and with a bit more variation in the vocals would’ve really made this album stand out.

This is still a beautiful album which is well produced and one that should be checked out, especially if you are looking for something to chill to in doors on these long cold winter nights.