Thunderous heavy metal band A Sound of Thunder will release its fifth full-length album “Tales From The Deadside” on September 25th worldwide on Mad Neptune Records.  

A Sound of Thunder


The new album “Tales from the Deadside”, is a full-length concept album based on Valiant Entertainment’s SHADOWMAN comic book series.  The album was recorded at Assembly Line Studios with RIAA-platinum awarded producer Kevin ‘131’ Gutierrez (Shinedown, While Heaven Wept, Raven).

“Tales from the Deadside”is available on CD and limited colored vinyl, and in a number of exclusive pre-order packages that were only available during their successful Kickstarter campaign in July/ August.  The standard CD edition of “Tales from the Deadside” will feature all-new Shadowman cover artwork, while select backers from the Kickstarter campaign will obtain an exclusive cover featuring Shadowman’s arch-nemesis Master Darque.

“The story of Shadowman, his alter-ego Jack Boniface, and the many characters in his world inspired us to create what we believe is our best album to date,” said A Sound Of Thunder guitarist Josh Schwartz.  “We let the story lead us to places our music has never been before, combining all the elements of supernatural horror, drama, action and adventure found in the comics. Of course everything has gone through our own unique Thunderous filter, and all the familiar ASOT elements will be there. The Shadowman’s harrowing journey demanded no less!”

A Sound of Thunderdelivers a unique and exciting blend of classic heavy metal, progressive, and rock.  The young upstarts from Washington, DC pay no heed to trends, focusing on quality song-writing with memorable melodies and riffs that stand the test of time.  With first class musicianship all around, the band’s not-so-secret weapon is vocalist Nina Osegueda.    Standing only 5′ 2″, the diminutive singer packs the vocal wallop of someone twice her size.  Described as a “heavy metal Swiss army knife”, Osegueda moves effortlessly from delicate whisper to overwhelming power, with the occasional banshee wail thrown in for good measure!

A Sound of Thunder was formed in 2008 by guitarist Josh Schwartzand drummer Chris Haren. After over a year of numerous line-up changes and false starts, in late 2009 they were joined by vocalist Nina Osegueda, who had grown restless in her previous band and was in search of broader musical horizons. The chemistry between Schwartz, Haren and Osegueda was instant, and the began writing, recording and gigging with a series of short-tenured and fill-in bassists. Finally in 2011 they were joined by bassist and multi-instrumentalist Jesse Keen, and the definitive band line-up was cemented.