A Forest Of Stars – A Shadowplay For Yesterday by Lianne Alice

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label: Lupus Lounge/Prophecy Productions

Band line-up:
Mister Curse – vocals
Katheryne, Queen of the Ghosts – violin, flute, vocals
The Gentleman – keyboards, percussion
Henry Hyde Bronsdon – guitar, vocals
Mr Titus Lungbutter – bass
Mr John “The Resurrectionist” Bishop – drums, percussion
Sir Gastrix Grimshaw – guitar, vocals

1 – Directionless Resurrectionist
2 – Prey Tell Of The Church Fate
3 – A Prophet For A Pound Of Flesh
4 – The Blight Of God’s Acre
5 – Man’s Laughter
6 – The Underside Of Eden
7 – Gatherer Of The Pure
8 – Left Behind As Static
9 – Corvus Corona (Part 1)
10 – Corvus Corona (Part 2)

A Forest Of Stars is a 7 piece band heralding from Leeds, UK. They formed in 2007 (although the band state that they formed in 1890!) to bring us their mix of psychedelic, philosophical black metal. “A Shadowplay of Yesterdays” is the bands 3rd studio album, following on from 2008’s “The Corpse of Rebirth” and 2010’s “Opportunistic Thieves of Spring”

When the album first kicks in I wasn’t overly impressed. It set’s the scene slightly but it was a bit long drawn out in my opinion. But don’t give up there as track 2 is worth waiting for. Starts off like some kind of jazz session then smacks you in the face with some metal! Goes on to sound like a Celtic song then something from Phantom of the Opera. A strange mix but it works.

Track 3 is very early Black Sabbath, this song flows so easily. Guitars, drums, violins…perfection!! The windpipe section and the female vocals are a nice touch also.

Track 4 starts off as like a bluesy The Cure then goes straight into Mayhem style frenzy! Sung almost like a sad lament.

Track 5 is quite frankly my least favourite of the album. It sounds like a soundtrack from a sci-fi horror, which is awesome, but just does not fit in with the rest of the album at all. There is really no need for it.

Track 6 makes you feel like you have just walked into a pagan festival, this one is my favourite of the whole album, and words can’t describe it, just listen!

Track 7 comes along and changes the scene completely; you get thrown into what sounds like the soundtrack of a very old French detective series! Half-way through there is a really nice guitar melody, this song is different from anything I have ever heard I’ll give them that!

As for track 8, not going to lie, makes me want to go and do salsa lessons! It’s not so much of a song though, more of a “How many music styles can you fit into one song”. Doesn’t quite flow for me.

Tracks 9 and 10 are joined together, starting off with the singer sounding like an even more demented Dr Frankenstein. All I can say is that they really have ended this album in the only way that they could……a complete array of different music styles.

The sound of the album is pretty clear and there was obviously a lot of hard work gone into the production. It’s not something I would normally give a try on disc but it really makes me want to see them live, just to see how they string everything together.

This band is literally the bastard child of all music styles, and quite frankly, they have won me over!